A good night in Raid Finder

LFR can be a complete jerk sometimes.

We’ve all been there – where the one piece you need just will not drop. For some, it’s the weapon – an important piece of gear for pretty much everyone. For others, it’s the boots, or the trinket. For me, in 5.0/5.1, it was ultimately the shoulder token. Lei Shi was very generous with her trinkets (I won four or five of those), but not so much with the shoulder token.

Well, you have your good days and your bad. Some people are “lucky” and others have terrible luck for long stretches. Such is the nature of chance as it’s built into the current version of the game. I did let myself get frustrated as all get-out about the shoulder token, but as March approached, I let it go. It just wasn’t worth it, and there were greener fields to graze on the horizon.

In Throne of Thunder, I haven’t really felt the need to complain too much about my luck. ToT has been fairly kind to me, all things considered. I’ve certainly snickered about it from time to time, though – I’ve won three necklaces since I bought the Valor necklace on March 5th, after all! :) That’s how it goes, I suppose.

Last night was one of those nights where things went in my favor.

I was finally able to snag a weapon upgrade, trading in old Taoren (491) for a shiny new (and ugly as sin) Durumu’s Baleful Gaze on a bonus roll.

Mushan, with Durumu's Baleful Gaze

Mushan, with Durumu’s Baleful Gaze

Despite the disgusting model(?) (seriously, the ranged weapon models in MoP are just some of the worst, in my humble opinion) of this “crossbow,” it was a not-insignificant upgrade for me. Later in the same raid, Dark Animus was gracious enough to leave behind a Gore-Soaked Gear with my name on it, replacing the Sign of the Bloodied God that I’d picked up ten days ago. This was also a direct upgrade, if only a small one, because of the socket and the Crit/Haste stat budget.

Overall, I’ve been pretty happy with the way my hunter’s gear has progressed this tier. Going into tonight’s raid, the remainders from T14 are few: tier helm and gloves (504), crafted chest (500), and the belt from Gara’jal (489). ToT RF gear: weapon, ring 2 (502). Valor: neck, cloak, bracers, ring 1, trinket 1 (522); crafted boots (522); and, from ToT itself, Thunderforged legs (528 – Jin’rokh), as well as shoulders, and trinket 2 (522 – Jin’rokh).

The gearing process is likely to slow down until we have more bosses on farm. As I mentioned before, the Valor gear that remains unpurchased (at honored with SPA) is less than inspiring, but I should be able to pick up the belt in less than two weeks, which will be a seriously good upgrade.

Tonight, we’re optimistic that we’ll be able to down both Jin’rokh and Horridon without too much trouble, so that we can spend some real time on Council. Since I won’t have my head elsewhere tonight, I’m looking to be a key contributor this time!

– – –

Thanks for reading this post by Mushan at Mushan, Etc. Comments are welcome!

Leave a Reply

