Done raiding for now

Last night, my girlfriend didn’t feel like playing Diablo, which allowed me to hijack her laptop, log in during prime time, and talk to a few of my guild mates for the first time in a while.

We had been on a break, calling the last two raids in June due to vacation (and apathy, etc.), and then my computer died the night before our next scheduled raid.  This week, I logged in to learn that it was decided to cancel raiding for the summer, with the idea that we would attempt to resume raiding a little once patch 5.0.1, the pre-Mists of Pandaria patch, goes live.  This was generally good news to me for a few reasons:

1) I don’t have a computer at the moment, so I simply can’t play right now.  Not having the burden of knowing I am holding people back every week is relieving, and gives me the opportunity to take time and make a good decision on a new machine.

2) While I like to think that I was one of the people who stayed interested and competitive, with regard to progression, the longest, in reality I was becoming as bored as those who were bored after the launch of Diablo III.  Which was basically everyone else that I raid with.  And seriously, the nerfage that has been going on in DS has made it something of an awkward proposition, anyway.

By the end of our journey through the latest tier, when the nerf was 20% and 25%, we got to a point where we were doing two different raids in one for a while – attempting heroics with the first five bosses, and regular mode on the last three encounters – and the differences were huge.  The last few times we did Madness, for instance, we had to slow or stop DPS on the fourth platform so that we didn’t end up with the bolt, the bloods and the tendons all at the same time.  We were just crushing each platform, and it became so much less fun to play that way.  Being 5/8 Heroic, we are all around ilvl 399 or higher, with one or two exceptions (varying from week to week), so normal modes were just ridiculous.  We’d attempt H Hagara several times, and then stomp her down on regular like she was an old tier boss, just to get a chance at H Ultraxion.  We eventually stopped doing the last three bosses, but then we happened to stop raiding entirely right after that.

3) I forgot my third reason – I think that my second reason sort of rolled my second and third into one, if you know what I mean…

– – –

At any rate, if people come back to experience the pre-release patch – and I assume they will, for the most part – it will be a good experience to go back into Dragon Soul with our team, in order to acclimate ourselves with our toons.  With ability changes come rotational adjustments, and to have the opportunity to adjust to new mechanics, abilities, timers and cooldowns, and the stat changes, is something that will definitely help us when MoP raiding begins.  We won’t have the level 90 talents available, but the changes, along with a couple of months off, could make for a refreshing experience in Dragon Soul when that time comes.

In the meantime, I’ll be looking for a good value on a decent machine.  And hopefully, within the next couple of weeks, I’ll be back in business.  Being away from WoW has been good – it’s been nice to let go of it, and it’s interesting how little the game seems to matter when you are pulled away at a time that your friends aren’t playing anyway – so I’m sure I’ll be refreshed and ready when the time comes to get back into the swing of things.

– – –

Thanks for reading this post by Mushan at Mushan, Etc.  Comments are welcome!

Leave a Reply

