Icecrown Citadel: Lord Marrowgar-10 down

Friday last week (the 15th), looking to try something new, I decided to head over to Icecrown Citadel and goof around in there for a while.

Since I leveled Mushan in the late summer / early fall of 2010, I never took him to ICC when it was current.  I did recently go back in with a guild group of about nine people (pre-Diablo III), and we cleared ICC-25 up through Sindragosa (we just didn’t have enough people to handle the whole Val’kyr situation with the Lich King).  However, that was the first and only time that Mushan had been there.

So I went in, figuring that, if nothing else, I could work on my fledgling reputation with the Ashen Verdict.

It took me about 20 minutes to clear the trash, including tripping three of the four Spirit Alarms.  It was then time to tackle Lord Marrowgar himself.

The main challenge with Marrowgar is handling the Bone Spikes.  The deal with them is that he won’t spike the person highest on the threat table.  Unfortunately, if you’re doing your job right, that person is not normally the hunter.  So the key to the fight, without question, is hitting him with Distracting Shot at the beginning of his Bone Spike cast.  The rest of the fight is typical hunter soloing stuff: staying out of AoE, keeping the pet alive, managing threat, and so on.  Bone Storm isn’t much more than an annoyance at this stage – with my gear, I just tried to minimize damage by avoiding Cold Flame and Bone Storm as much as possible.  And with Spirit Bond and the heal from Chimera Shot, he wasn’t significantly hurting me.

After eight failed attempts, during which I worked to get over my inability to taunt consistently – at the beginning of every Bone Storm cast – for five minutes without a mistake, I put together a solid streak of taunts and got the kill.  And with the lockout reset, I killed him again on Tuesday night with little trouble at all.

Boned (10-player), June 15, 2012

After that, I headed on up to see about Lady Deathwhisper…

Marrowgar-10 down, June 15, 2012

But after killing the trash, I remembered the whole Curse of Torpor thing, and figured that wasn’t going to happen.  And it didn’t.  And I thankfully didn’t screenshot it.

I know that there have probably been hundreds and hundreds of hunters who have soloed Lord Marrowgar at this point.  However, it was fun and challenging experience nonetheless!

– – –

Thanks for reading this post by Mushan at Mushan, Etc.  Comments are welcome!

Leave a Reply

