At times like these, if you’re like me, you do weird stuff

A couple of weeks ago, I started a post entitled “Time to level a new toon?”

It was beginning to feel like it was time.  Other than Sunday night raids, there has been nothing going on.  Virtually the entire guild has been offline almost 100% of the time that I’m logged in, all of my friends are playing Diablo III, and not much is happening elsewhere either.  Many other blogs have been mostly quiet as well.

So I started thinking that perhaps it was time to start a new toon.

I faced a couple of questions about what I wanted to do.  Did I want to try some type of Unconventional Leveling process with this next character?  Which class did I want to level?  What race did I want to play?  Would I finally take a Horde toon to max level with this one?

Well, here’s what happened.

My first inclination is usually to make a hunter.  However, I already leveled a hunter in Cataclysm, and I want to level another in Mists of Pandaria from scratch.  I don’t know which race it will be, but I’ll definitely make one.  I decided not to burn myself out on hunters now when it’s likely I’ll want to start another one before the end of the year – and because hunters are my favorite class, that would be a no-no.

I have a strong desire to make another warrior.  I love playing my prot warrior, and it would be so much fun to make another one.  There’s nothing quite so visceral as the feeling of physicality you can get from playing a protection warrior*: the toe-to-toe combat, shield slams, clanging of weapons, and so on.  However, I decided to wait on that for a little while longer.

*It’s similar with a bear, but not exactly the same.

I’ve also got a lingering desire to finally make a successful deathknight.  But I just took my rogue through Outland and Northrend fairly recently, so I don’t want to do that again already (not that I mind Outland and Northrend as much as many others do).  And, truthfully, DKs are low on that list of priorities.

There are other classes, of course.  I have two druids, and no desire to make another.  I’m not really interested in playing a warlock or priest, or another paladin.  I didn’t like playing a shaman, and deleted the one I took into the 40s early this spring.

And I came to a realization after I finished leveling my rogue, and that was that I don’t like having toons taking up character slots when I don’t really love playing the class.  My paladin can do this, because I’m just not going to level Alchemy again, and I don’t actually hate playing her (pretty much exclusively for questing).  And I like her name.  But the rogue is skinner / herbalist, and a rogue, and I just never feel inclined to play her when there’s so much more I could be doing with any of my other toons.  So I’ve decided that I’m not going to make a different class just to play a different class.

So I wasn’t sure what I wanted to do, and so that post has not been written.

– – –

However, this week as I did JC dailies (and so on) on my mage, I came to the conclusion that I really don’t like my mage that much.

It’s not that I don’t like playing him; on the contrary, I’ve gotten so that I don’t completely stink at playing him.  He’s done Raid Finder a few times, has about a 380 ilvl, and when I have played him, I’ve generally enjoyed him.

What I don’t like, however, is the way he looks.

He’s a human male.  Enough said?

I also don’t really like his name.  Oh, I liked Theophilos when I made him – it sounds like a mage name, particularly for a human.  It sounds like an Archmage Antonidas-ish name.  But to be honest, that doesn’t translate for me any more – by that, I mean that it sort of feels out of place in the game, for what I’m doing, if that makes any sense at all.

So here’s what I decided to do late last week, and here’s where people may think I’m crazy:

I decided to level a new mage.  He’s a night elf, with a different name (obviously).  He’s a JC/Tailor, just like Theophilos.  He uses the same UI, and will play the same specs (likely Fire/Frost), and I’m fairly sure that I’m going to like him better than Theophilos.

The plan is to level him relatively quickly – certainly before 5.0, and hopefully well before that – and have his professions maxed and have a fair amount of JC tokens and all that jazz.  And then when I get to the point where the new mage has surpassed the old one, where anything relevant that the old mage can do (profession-wise) can also be done by the new one, I will delete Theophilos.  (This – deleting – will probably happen after MoP is in full swing, btw.)

Crazy, right?

That’s the idea, anyway.  We’ll see if it happens.  He’s 31 right now.

– – –

I said earlier in this post that I would not level Alchemy again.  But I’m going to level Jewelcrafting, which is also annoying and costly to level.  So I’m insane, right?  Possibly.  However, I’m satisfied with my paladin.  I don’t love her, but she worked hard on Alchemy for a long time, and I know I’m not going to do much with her other than level to 90 and provide me with a toon with Alchemy.  On the other hand, I’ll likely play my mage more, and I’d like to do so with a toon that I enjoy looking at in battle and around town.  (Transmog definitely plays into this… what can I say!)  Leveling JC again isn’t actually going to cost me a whole lot of gold, and I have plenty of gold anyway, so I’m deciding to use it for something I enjoy.

That’s what it’s all about anyway, is it not?

– – –

Thanks for reading this post by Mushan at Mushan, Etc.  Comments are welcome!

Leave a Reply

