RNG has a funny sense of humor

The day finally arrived. Friday was the day that my girlfriend finished making 21 Hardened Magnificent Hides, so we got together and exchanged mail belts in the evening.

First, she made the belt for me on her druid…

My Gorge Stalker Belt - yay!

My Gorge Stalker Belt – yay!

Then, she switched over to her shaman, and I made her the Int Mail belt…

Krasari Prowler Belt

Her Krasari Prowler Belt – yay!

And then, I finally ditched my Tier 15 2-piece gear by equipping some new shoulders and making myself the mail legs. I figured, what the heck – it’s just a game, and these hides couldn’t possibly mean more to me if used for anything other than new hunter pants, even if only for a short while.

This trade was necessary because, betwixt my two Leatherworkers, I still had not learned the belt pattern on either (in 50 days X 2 worth of cooldowns). It worked out, because she was able to help me and I was able to make her a belt to compensate her – she was able to get her belt as soon as she was able to make it, and I was able to get mine in the face of possibly never learning the darn pattern. As I said in a previous post, there’s something fun and immersive – and elusive – about mutually beneficial activity when it comes to professions, and I’m glad I waited for the experience, rather than just buying a belt at the Auction House.

Of course, the next morning, this happened:

"Congratulations, you have learned a now-virtually-useless pattern!"

“Congratulations, you have learned a now-virtually-useless pattern!”

*and palm met face*

Ah well, at least we each got our belts – no harm, no foul. Although, regarding the legs, I fully expect to win the tier legs or some Warforged ones during the next week, now that I’ve used four weeks worth of mats to make the crafted ones. That’s how RNG works, right? Manipulative, playing with our emotions, torturing our hopes and dreams, laughing in our faces… It would not surprise me in the least!

Thanks for reading this post by Mushan at Mushan, Etc. Comments are welcome!

2 Comments on “RNG has a funny sense of humor”

  1. mrandmrswow says:

    Sods law, but at least you got your new-news :)

  2. R says:

    I’m one of those people who will pick against his favourite team to ensure a win/win result either way (either my team wins and I lose, or I win if the team loses).

    So, naturally, I expect your type of RNG so I plan for it… if I want tier legs, I’ll spend some money/effort upgrading my legs to something worthy (but inferior) to force the tier legs to drop. If they do, plan succeeded! If not, at least I have better legs in the meantime. I much prefer that to having crappy legs and facing disappointment every time tier legs could drop but don’t.

    (I like RNG in general, I think it makes the game more interesting, but I’ll bet against it whenever possible :) )


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 72 other followers