Getting the alts settled

As Tuesday – and Patch 5.4 – approached, and arrived, I felt that I was in a pretty good position.

My hunter is always my priority, and I was looking forward to new challenges with him, as well as the legendary cloak. Aside from that, which alt might get “priority” (using that term very loosely) was up in the air. The four alts I’d been prepping for play, post-patch, were the Resto druid, Prot warrior, Blood death knight, and Frost mage. All but the druid were Valor-capped (and she was within 250 points), gear was updated as much as I was willing to update it, and so on.

Additionally, I was well-stocked with crafting materials for both personal use and for sale, and I’d especially stocked up on flasks, potions, and food for the hunter. In fact, you could say I over-stocked him. But that’s just my nature.

Anyway, with the newness of the Timeless Isle wearing off after a few hours each day, I’ve tended to find my thoughts drifting back to those alts. And, if you had asked me a month ago what I was planning to do with each of them, the answer might have been something along the lines of:

  1. Druid: SoO LFR each week, perhaps Flex. Top “priority” alt.
  2. Warrior: No idea. Be ready to tank, but if not, whatever. I can play him, or not.
  3. Death knight: Run H dungeons with him. Have fun.
  4. Mage: Take him into SoO LFR from time to time, but no priority here.

I’m not going to be tanking LFR unless my raid team goes with me and I’m tanking with a friend as my fellow tank. I just don’t care to – it’s just not something that interests me much. So things will be fairly casual with the plate toons.

The mage? Well, he’s a damage dealer, and for me, ranged damage is easy and enjoyable. However, I already do ranged damage all the time, so while the mage plays differently than the hunter, the similarities are still there.

The druid, however, is a different story. Healing requires a fairly different mindset to play, which is something that I find value in. I love my hunter, but healing gives me a different perspective on fights, even if it’s just for LFR. And it’s a new set of challenges, and one that I’ve tackled less than any other role (ranged/melee/tank) in the entirety of my WoW experience.

However, when I dusted off the mage at the very end of 5.3 for some dungeon fun, I found that I was having a ton of fun with him, and so he’s back in the rotation now. He’s quite undergeared, and if it weren’t for the fact that yesterday I bought three 522 Shado-pan Assault pieces and two 496 Shieldwall pieces for him, and made Timeless shoulders and bracers for him, he’d be far from qualifying for SoO LFR when it opens. But now he’s at 498, and even though that means LFR will be a challenge for him, I’m not terrible at playing him, so maybe we can make some magic happen…

…yeah! I went here.

I also picked up a pair of 522 legs for the druid (she’s 509 now), 522 chest and cloak for the warrior (511), and made a couple of pieces for the DK (490), so things are starting to look like they’re settled as far as being able to spend points on gear pieces for a while.

At any rate – and this could change from week to week, for all I know – my new priority seems to be:

  1. Druid. I really want to become a better healer.
  2. Mage. Oh man, I think I’m going to have fun with this toon!
  3. Warrior.
  4. Death knight.

The only thing that sucks about the druid is that her OS is Guardian, and her gear for that spec isn’t that awesome, so questing and doing things on the Timeless Isle is slow. However, that might not really be a problem, because as long as she has the ability to get her three Warforged Seals for bonus rolls every week, she might not even need to go “Timeless” all that much. Although the skinning there can be amazing if you go at the right time, and she is a skinner…

(There’s a pun in that last sentence, somewhere…)

With so much on the horizon with my main, and the busy season at work kicking into gear very soon, I don’t know what kind of time I’ll have for alts. But they’re never far from my mind, even when I’m otherwise occupied, because they represent a break from my main endeavors, which is never a bad thing.

Thanks for reading this post by Mushan at Mushan, Etc. Comments are welcome!

5 Comments on “Getting the alts settled”

  1. Jojo says:

    I’ve been really enjoying my mage recently. She’s frost spec too. I’ve been having so much fun that (up until last night) she had spent more play time on the Timeless Isle & had more coins than my main (hunter).

    • Mushan says:

      Yeah I’ve started taking mine on the Isle too over the past couple of days. Good times! I’m still mainly on the hunter, though. I can do things on the hunter over there that I just can’t do on any other class. But I am enjoying the mage!

  2. Moonkin and Resto share most of the same stats, so you could always drop your Guardian spec for the time being if you’re just wanting to make your trip the isle easier? I did this on my Paladin and went Ret out there to farm tokens and the like, swapped back to Holy and then used the tokens for some halfway decent (albeit sometimes poorly itemized) gear.

    • Mushan says:

      I’ve thought about doing just that. However, rather than change my UI around for the spec change, I just made myself some new pieces and grinded things out when I had some down-time. Ultimately, the druid won’t spend much time on the island – once LFR gets into full swing, that will be her main playing (and gearing) outlet, methinks.

      Plus, I hate questing as balance. It may be dumb, but I’d rather grind as a tank than go balance over there! We’ll see… it’s an option that hasn’t been 100% taken off the table yet. :)

      • Anything beats grinding out there in a healing build. Trying to kill anything as a Holy Paladin was agonizing lol. I would honestly think that going the Guardian route could play out in your favor, especially if you’ll be grinding out the elite Yaun’gol that hit like dumptrucks.

        I had no problem as Balance though, as it’s my primary spec/main character. Either way, good luck in LFR and may the loot gods be with you!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 72 other followers