Soloed: Halion (10H)

Heroic Halion (10) down!

Heroic Halion (10) down!

This past Sunday afternoon, looking to do something challenging yet fun, I decided to give Heroic Halion a shot.

I had never defeated Halion before. I only ever attempted him once toward the end of Wrath with a raid group, and it was one of those things where we’d get to Phase 3 and then start dropping like flies. And I never tried soloing him during Cataclysm, because I assumed that the whole twilight realm portal thing would reset the boss. Maybe I was right, maybe not… but at any rate, it is soloable now, as was brought to my attention by this video from Cinnamohn (props to Cinnamohn for the idea and the strategy!). Check it out for the details!

I soloed him as SV in my questing spec setup (Spirit Bond, Blink Strike, Glyphs of Mending and Misdirection). It took me five attempts to get my head in gear and not stand in the crossfire forever (facepalm!), not get hit by the Twilight Cutter, not out-threat my pet, and so on, and to get him down. Because he heals himself for a┬ásizable┬áchunk every five seconds in Phase 3 (from 50% health till death), the majority of the fight is spent in that phase, doing more damage to him than he can heal through. Like many soloing fights, the trick is basically to execute the mechanics of the encounter while still doing enough damage and keeping the pet alive – while also keeping threat on your pet so that you don’t have to Feign Death, which will reset the boss – and Halion certainly tests that combination of skills and awareness on Heroic mode for modest soloists like myself.

It was pretty cool to attempt and defeat a boss that I’ve never seen before on Heroic, and had never defeated before. Sometime, I’d like to attempt the 25-player version, but I don’t know if I could handle that. Perhaps on normal mode…

- – -

Thanks for reading this post by Mushan at Mushan, Etc. Comments are welcome!

5 Comments on “Soloed: Halion (10H)”

  1. […] I soloed him as SV in my questing spec setup (Spirit Bond, Blink Strike, Glyphs of Mending and Misdirection). It took me five attempts to get my head in gear and not stand in the crossfire forever (facepalm!), not get hit by the Twilight Cutter, not out-threat my pet, and so on, and to get him down. . . . read full article […]

  2. Peter says:

    How do you beat the Corporeality? I tried a few times, and as MM spec, Misdirect and Pet Heal Glyph I have no issues keeping myself and pet up while also keeping agro.

    However the Corporeality seems to always go quickly to 80-100% damage reduction and seems to stay there structurally. In the end I do virtually no damage anymore, and his health goes slowly to 100% again.

    I though about going SV/BM and scarifise the selfheal, but the issue is not my dps. I can easily pull 80-100K structurally (504ilvl), but that is before any Corporeality reductions. And 100% reduction of infinite dps is still zero :-)

    • Peter says:

      I think I have found my issue. All the videos say you can pretty much choose your realm. Most videos then just stay in the twilight, because that is where they are after P2. On normal that’s also what I did. However itseems this statement is actually potentially untrue.

      I went to the physical realm because you take less damage. Now after some googling it seems, that some ‘unknown’ force pushes Halion into the twilight realm, explaining why dpsing from there will not result in a 100% Corporeality reduction.

      There is some discussion on whether that was always the case, or after some hotfix, but anyway this may explain why you did not get 100% damage reduction if you stay in the twilight realm, while I in the physcal realm did see time after time Corporeality go up all the way. Makes sense if Blizzard does not want it to make it too easy for people …

      Of course could also be a bug/glitch I’ve been hitting. Various people reported bugs with this encounter as well.

      Anyway, I’ll try again later this week by staying in the twilight realm.

      • Mushan says:

        Yeah, I stayed in the twilight realm, and was able to slowly knock his health down (faster than he healed). Cinnamohn did it in his video, and I just stuck with his strat, knowing that I could probably do more damage than Halion took back in that realm.

        I hadn’t looked into exactly why it was the case; attempting him on heroic was more of a ‘let me just check this out / see what happens’ type of thing, and it worked out. Good luck to you! :)

      • Peter says:

        I can now confirm indeed you NEED to stay in the Twilight Realm. No cheating by going in easy mode physical realm :-)

        You cannot, as your dps will pull him towards 100% damage reduction within 75 seconds.

        In the Twilight Realm an ‘unknown force’ will counterweight and even outdo) your dps presure, so you can kill him.

        Got it on my second attempt then as MM hunter with Ferocity spec. On my first my pet died at 2%.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 72 other followers