Fingers crossed… and Raining Blood!

Ready to summon

Just over four weeks into the expansion, we finally have a target date for heading into Mogu’shan Vaults.

As I wrote in my previous post, our guild has a bit of a balance problem. We have more than enough people to raid, but most of them are melee DPS: three warriors, a couple of DKs, a rogue, and a monk. At the moment, Ela and I are the only ranged DPS even close to 90*. As it stands, we’re full on damage: two of the warriors and Ela and I are holdovers from DS/FL, and we have a rogue who ran with us part-time on his druid during Cata. We have one tank, Squido, and one healer, Bensen, from before.

*We’re both 90. Nobody else is close.

It looks like we have two DK tanks to choose from, one of whom is both amiable and skilled, and will hopefully pick up a little more gear and be ready to go. We have a healer who used to be a priest in Wrath. He doesn’t like healing as a priest, so he’s been power-leveling a druid. We’re hoping he can get the rest of the way up over the course of the next week, although he’s 80 at the moment and taking a couple of days off before leveling through Cata and MoP. At least, I assume he is.

We also have this monk who was one of the first to 90 in our guild, and he is geared to deal damage, but has been working on a healing offspec.

The healers are both wild-cards. Our target date is November 4th.

I really hope that a) the druid can keep up his leveling pace, and b) the monk is amiable to the idea of healing for us. If he’s interested in raiding with the guild, we don’t need more damage – particularly since we’re already melee-heavy as it is.

The idea is to get into the damn place. We’re not a world-wrecker guild by any stretch. But I’ve been itching to raid since the week after MV came out, so just getting some work in will feel good. It’s too bad that we had a tank and healer quit playing, because we had a pretty good team in Cataclysm. But there is a core of skilled friends here, and the goal is to raid together. I’m looking forward to it. Like I said, fingers are crossed.

That feeling is particularly strong after my attempt to complete the second half of Raid Finder last night. My first queue was Will of the Emperor, so I turned it down. My second queue was Elegon, so I took it, and we managed to one-shot it (from the time I joined, anyway). Only two people died when the floor dropped, which helped a lot.

The final boss was a different story. On four attempts (including one that brought them down to 29M health), we had to wait interminable amounts of time between pulls as about half the raid would leave each time. It was awful. If we could have started each pull a few minutes after each wipe, that would have been bad enough. But the long wait times really tested my patience, and I decided to bail after the 4th. 70 minutes for four attempts – with almost half the time down-time – was more than I was willing to stick around for random members for.

We’re running RF on Sunday as a guild, which will be better. I’m keen on getting the bow and the trinket, though, so I gave it a shot. But seriously… it was absolutely no fun.

By the way – what part of the “brez the tank” concept includes “brez the mage” anyway? I see a lot of that kind of crap in there, and it ends up wiping us way too often.

If nothing else, I’m looking forward to running with (mostly) mature adults who know how to follow strategies and execute fundamentals.

- – -

Not much has changed for me. I haven’t written because I haven’t felt that there’s been much to write about. I’m playing – a LOT – as well as working and so on. But nothing earth-changing has been going on.

Well, “dailies” has been going on, and we all know how exciting that is.

I’ve been moving along with my Klaxxi dailies, and find myself only two days away from exalted with them. I’m excited about the questline at the end, which will give me a very useful ring. Additionally, I’ve been enjoying the Klaxxi dailies more than probably any of the others. Need a reason? The heavy metal song-named buffs you can get from the various paragons.

Raining Blood!

My absolute favorite of these, as a hunter, is Raining Blood. Raining Blood is an enhancement given by Xaril the Poisoned Mind, and it reads like this: “Attacking enemies has a 100% chance to inject enemies with Unstable Serum.”

There are two awesome parts of this enhancement.

First of all, it’s a stackable debuff. When the debuff hits eight stacks, the serum explodes for somewhere in the area of 200k-300k damage. This usually kills the enemy, unless it’s an elite.

Secondly, the visual effect is really sweet for hunters. Each time you hit with a ranged attack, a blood-colored poison attack follows. Taking it up a notch, when you Multishot at several enemies – the more the better – you get a spray of blood coming from your weapon. If you haven’t tried it, I’d definitely recommend it. It makes doing dailies in the Dread Wastes so much more fun than they would be without it.

Anyway, aside from Klaxxi, I’m also revered with the Shado’pan – who have some of the least fun dailies in the game right now – as of yesterday. So thank goodness for that.

On the other hand, I spent some time this morning updating my personal gear goals with regard to their cost, the places they drop, and so on, now that raiding is more than a twinkle in the eye. As a result of that, I confirmed (thanks to Ask Mr. Robot) that the Hawkmaster’s Talon, the trinket that becomes available from the Shado’pan at revered, is by far my biggest possible purchasable upgrade at the moment, so I’ll be picking that up tomorrow when I have 75 more Valor Points. As it stands, I have a three-page breakdown in my notebook just for potential gear upgrades over the next several weeks, so I have my work cut out for me.

Although – I must say – it’s getting to the point where I’ve picked up most of the higher-value VP gear relative to what I’m wearing. After I pick up the trinket, ring, helm, and (if necessary) legs, there are no more items that have a value of more than half a point of DPS increase per Valor Point. If we are successful enough to make some progress in Mogu’shan Vaults and pick up some gear, I might not find myself working as hard for valors for some of those pieces.

As for Justice Points… I’m going to be capped once I run another heroic. I think I’m going to have to convert them to Honor and buy some PvP gear, even though I haven’t set foot in a BG since 5.0.1, because I don’t know what else to do with them.

More soon!

- – -

Thanks for reading this post by Mushan at Mushan, Etc. Comments are welcome!


2 Comments on “Fingers crossed… and Raining Blood!”

  1. Laeleiweyn says:

    Ooooh, I’m gonna have to try Raining Blood. :) Thanks for the tip.

    Good luck with the team and your raid next week!

    • Mushan says:

      Thanks, Lae! And yeah, now that I have the Stay Klaxxi achievement (for using all 10 buffs for 5 dailies), I just leave Raining Blood on all the time. Each time I re-enter the zone, it gets reapplied automatically, which is also quite awesome! :)


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 70 other followers