Mushan, part 2: the proof is in the screenie

One of my recurring experiences this week has been the constant reminder that Blizzard named a large lizard after my toon and those of a couple dozen other players, a situation I’ve alluded to before.

This weekend, for instance, a friend of mine and his wife, who recently finished questing from 85 to 90 together, were working on their last few bars, and got a quest requiring them to pick up Full Mushan Bladders. At the time, I was smelting ore on my warrior, and logged out to switch over to my hunter. Apparently, they mentioned to one another that it was time to get the bladders, or that the drop rate on the bladders was low, or something. And right then I logged in on Mushan, and it was apparently hilarious! Of course, they told me about it right away, and even asked me for a full bladder, to which I replied that I was, sadly, unable to help them.

Everything that’s been said to me has been good-natured – it’s been referenced in guild chat a fair amount, but not an annoying amount.

And I haven’t really noticed it much while actually killing them, or passing them in the fields on the way from one place to another. For example, on Sunday night I was farming leather on my druid, and I killed hundreds of them, and it never even crossed my mind that I was killing “my namesake” or whatever. I was in Vot4W, killing foxes and mushan and stags in big stacks, and it was all good. I feel like I’m killing kodos when I kill them, to be quite honest.

What I have noticed, on the other hand, has been the large number of new players named Mushan this week.

When I checked the US armory a couple of weeks ago, there were the usual dozen or so Mushans. I wasn’t the first, and I won’t be the last, so that’s fine. However, checking last night, there are 44 players named Mushan. It’s been in the back of my mind that this would happen; and I didn’t know how I would feel about it. While my name is, as I said, not unique, I did make it up on my own back in mid-2010, and any reference there to anything else, before or after, is purely coincidental.

Here… I’ll show you.

Mushan in October 2010, the week before patch 4.0.1 hit and Tirion Fordring disappeared from his hovel-in-exile along the Thondroril River in the Eastern Plaguelands.

What I hope is that I will not be lost among my friends, you, who read / follow / enjoy this blog. I won’t be changing my name, so hopefully I can keep my identity and uniqueness by virtue of my character and personality, as it comes across in my writing and online conversations with you.

Anyway, please remember little old me, when I am but one of the soon-to-be hundreds of players named Mushan.

- – -

Thanks for reading this post by Mushan at Mushan, Etc. Comments are welcome!

3 Comments on “Mushan, part 2: the proof is in the screenie”

  1. Prinnie Dood says:

    I’ve been lucky to land mostly unique names, but I suspect it’s mostly a result of the odd spelling I choose. Ailabeth, for example, is unique. But if you look up Alabeth, whooaaa now! (I actually like the name Ayla, but Aylabeth looked silly for some reason, so I went with Ailabeth instead.)

    There happens to be a human Alabeth on the same realm as my Forsaken Ailabeth, and both are blond shadow priests. I sometimes like to pretend that Alabeth is some echo of Ailabeth’s past-before-the-plague, running around Stormwind fully fleshed as Ailabeth must’ve done once upon a less maggoty time.

  2. Jac says:

    Fist off, it was my wife and I who laughed as Mushan logged on, just as we got the quest to kill the Mushan’s. Actually, my wife said. I guess we have to kill these Mushan’s, not really thinking about our friend, when all of a sudden, he logged in. I said..speak of the devil, we laughed, and that’s where it got started. Of course, it was too good to pass up.

    I believe that the reason there are a lot of new toons named.Mushan now in the realms, is due to the fact of the introduction of Pandarians into the game. Mushan, as most of you know, was a little girl featured in a Disney movie. Since it is a Chinese type name, people have used it on their Pandarian monk, hunters, or whatever. Hence the increase in the use of the character name..

    Our friend Mushan, is a really good friend., and he writes from the heart. He is always there fore advice, help, and just for a little good natured ribbing. Isn’t that what a true friend really is?

    Keep up the good work my friend.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 72 other followers