Stuff in my bank: Lamenting the loss of screenshots (Oh, and the Tabard of the Scarlet Crusade)

One of the many things that I’ve lost with the death of my iMac is a lot of screenshots.  While I’m not necessarily a screenie-holic, I did have several that are not really replicable.  Some of these I was saving for future posts, and had prepped them in iPhoto, but never uploaded them into WordPress.

One of my favorites happened when I ran Scarlet Monastery recently on my hunter to, among other things, get the achievement.  As everyone probably knows, one of the most coveted, and rare, drops in there is the Tabard of the Scarlet Crusade.  Many have farmed the crap out of that place to no avail, including me (on my druid) – and I think I’ve seen it drop only once, when I was on a low-level alt, and I lost the roll, and never saw it again.  Wowhead claims it has a 2% drop rate, which is pretty low, but I pretty much never see it.

That is, until this recent trip.

When you kill Herod at the end of the Armory wing, a flood of weenies comes down to exact revenge, or whatever.  So I killed Herod with a headshot, and these guys came down, and I promptly destroyed them.  While I was looting them, I was overjoyed to find that one of them had a Tabard of the Scarlet Crusade on him.  Woo hoo! – screenshot.  Yes!

So I finished looting – oh!  Wait a minute!  Look at this!  Another Tabard of the Scarlet Crusade!

Yeah.  Usually, it just doesn’t drop.  Hardly ever.  I’ve tried to get it many times before, since I’m a tabard hoarder on my druid.  And it just doesn’t seem to drop.

Until this time, when it dropped twice at the same time.

I got an error message telling me that I couldn’t loot another of those items, so I took a screenshot of that too.  But those screenshots are both gone now.

At some point, I plan to crack the old machine open and attempt to extract certain kinds of files from the hard drive, including screenshots.  However, that likely won’t be for a while.  In the meantime, I’m S.O.L. with screenies until I get a new computer and start taking more of them.

On the plus side, I now have the Scarlet Crusade Tabard, although I will probably never use it on Mushan.  Now, if my warrior had it, that would be a different story, since I have a sweet new plate transmog that I plan to use in Mists of Pandaria, and that tabard would go well enough with it (it has some red in it, which is good enough for me!).  Ah well.  Maybe someday…

- – -

Thanks for reading this post by Mushan at Mushan, Etc.  Comments are welcome!


3 Comments on “Stuff in my bank: Lamenting the loss of screenshots (Oh, and the Tabard of the Scarlet Crusade)”

  1. […] one of the most coveted, and rare, drops in there is the Tabard of the Scarlet Crusade. . . . read full article (No Ratings Yet)  Loading […]

  2. Glad to see that you understand that, even from a dead machine, files can be recovered from the hard drive.
    Do not lament the loss of your screen-shots. Look forward to seeing them again, in the future :)

  3. Mabaho says:

    Yay, another iMac player/blogger :)

    as long as it wasn’t the actual hdd that died your stuff should be fine. Even if it was the HDD and it wasn’t physically damaged you should have some success.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 72 other followers