Mushan, pronounced (for Hydra!)

When I think up character names – when I’m not ripping them off from books – I think them up entirely in my head.  By that, I mean that I have some characters that have what are, to me, originally created names.*  Anacrusa and Mushan are two of these.  I also made up Abenadari, my draenei paladin.  These three, at the time that I made them, were each created at the login screen, playing around with letters, wondering how they would sound, and so on.

*This doesn’t mean that nobody else has those names, but it means that I made them up in my brain, they were available when I entered them into the character creation screen, and I didn’t look to an outside influence when I did so.

Of my names, the one that gives me, personally, the most trouble with pronunciation is my warrior, Droignon.  I stole his name from the Jester Series of books by Alan Gordon, along with Theophilos and Feste, which are all names used by the protagonist in those books.  I loved the name Droignon – loved how it looked, and how it looked like it might be pronounced like filet mignon.  (Yes, this is how my brain works!)

How it’s been pronounced

Anacrusa flows off the tongue, and, once you sound it out, Abenadari does too.  However, Mushan seems to cause loads of trouble for some people.  I’ve had friends call me Mu-shan (rhyming with can), which is fine.  One of my guild-mates started calling me Mushy (rhyming alternatively with slushy or bushy) during Firelands because apparently that was easier to say than the full word, and I accepted that, because my brain by that time could react to being identified as Mushy in vent.

On a more public scale, though, I’ve had the good fortune of having my name pronounced on two podcasts.

For several months, I’ve been actually logging into the chatroom for the live Hunting Party Podcast when I’m able to attend.  For those who don’t know the HPP, if you have any interest in hunters, fun podcasts, or just WoW in general, it’s both informative and very entertaining – hunters have a great community, so the conversation is lively and friendly.

Anyway, during the podcast, Frostheim reads the names of those who join the conversation in the chat room, and part of the fun is hearing him either nail or butcher various names.  I was relieved to hear Frost pronounce my name “MOO-shahn” the first time I managed to log in on time, and that was fine.

Today, though, I was listening to last week’s episode of the Twisted Nether Blogcast, and was delighted to hear Hydra announce my blog as one of the new introductions on Blog Azeroth over the past couple of weeks.  Unfortunately, she didn’t quite get the pronunciation of my name, but she did spell it out.

How I pronounce it

In the interest of anyone who cares, I pronounce my hunter’s name “moo-SHAHN” with the second syllable rhyming with John.  I also like Frostheim’s version accenting the first syllable; I think it sounds cool.  But, if you should ever read this, Hydra, no worries!  (And thanks for introducing my blog on the show!)  You’re not the first person, and you won’t be the last, to not know what to think when you see my name.  Unintentionally, I chose a name that has an uncertain pronunciation, so I guess it comes with the territory!

^^

- – -

Thanks for reading this post by Mushan at Mushan, Etc.  Comments are welcome!

One Comment on “Mushan, pronounced (for Hydra!)”

  1. Alan Gordon says:

    I cannot tell you how delighted I am! Alan Gordon


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 72 other followers